What’s in a Name…


So, now that I have a little more time (and I’m done playing with the settings, for now), I’ll explain the names.

Elvis: I’m not sure what the context was, but about a year ago I was trying to tell my husband something about our eldest that I didn’t want Elvis to know about. I thought that I was saying ‘eldest’. What was heard was “Elvis”. So for the last year, up until a couple of months ago, our 4 year old son has been dubbed Elvis anytime we didn’t want him to know we were talking about him. unfortunately, he has now figured it out and takes great pride in telling people that he meets, that his name is Elvis…. Why do kids have to be so smart….

Tiki: This is probably one of my favorite stories…. When I was pregnant with Elvis, we had decided not to tell anyone what name we were picking, and proceeded to tell people a random name (I can’t remember what that was anymore). With the second pregnancy we chose to do the same, and this time we told people that we were naming our son “Tiki”. This time around, however, was much funnier! We had several people who thought we were dead serious about this name! (If only they had known us better…..but then I wouldn’t have this story!) So, up until the day we had him, he was “Tiki”, and the nickname has stuck around. I still have a coworker who asks me how Tiki is doing.

So there’s the story of how my boys got they’re nicknames…. I hope they stick around forever, because I’ve always thought that nicknames are awesome, especially when there’s a great story behind them. And, I have to admit, I’m a little jealous of them, because I never really had a nickname that I liked that stuck…. Oh, well…. I guess I can just live vicariously through my boys!

 

Leave a Reply

