Life in General…


I haven’t posted in awhile because I’ve had to wait until after certain life events took place before I could talk about them.

First of all, my husband has changed jobs. This means that he is now home every Saturday (he wasn’t before) and he doesn’t have to work 60+ hour weeks in the spring! And the best part of the whole thing, is that it’s for essentially the same pay! It was a very emotionally trying few weeks, when he was attempting to put in his 2 weeks notice (his old job didn’t want to take it…long story). But through the whole ordeal it became very clear that God had given us this new job, and we weren’t just trading jobs for the fun of it. And, although it was rough with his old bosses for a little bit, he was able to leave on good terms, with the possibility of coming back if things didn’t work out. (I don’t think that this will happen, but it’s nice to know there’s a safety net!).

But, with the new job, it also means we are without health insurance for the next 90 days. (well 87, but who’s keeping track….) And, I have to admit, I’m more than a little anxious about this. Especially given my husbands ability to injure himself at the most inconvenient times, as well as Elvis’ ability to injure himself on stationary objects (i.e. parked vehicles, or walls….). But, it’s only three months, and we don’t have any well-child visits until July, so we shouldn’t need a doctor unless something unexpected comes up.

And then there’s my jewelry business. I’m trying to grow it, so that I can do that full-time and only work at the hospital a couple days a week. It’s hard work, but I’m hoping that by this time next year, I’ll be able to do this. And as part of growing my business, I have turned a corner of the basement into an office space. (no more taking up the space in front of the dressers in my bedroom!) This meant a visit from my sister to help me clean up and reorganize the toys, only she only made it over one of the days, because her car is evil, and decided not to start. But we were able to find an awesome new desk at a thrift store! So, I was left to try to reorganize everything…. it’s taking a lot longer than I had hoped. Maybe, that’s because I spent an entire day painting…..

And then we had an epic ice storm! It was my day off, and we had no power. So, I packed up the boys and took them over to my in-laws, who also didn’t have power, but at least had a generator. It’s very boring to be in some elses house all day (even though we’re over there a lot!), when you had plans for the day. Luckily, we got power back that night, we could have gone another 2 or 3 days like some of my friends.

That leads me to today, I spent the weekend taking care of a sick child (just a fever, but he didn’t want to be anywhere but on my lap!), and attempting to get caught up on housework. Hopefully, the next 3 weeks are fairly boring, and we can settle back into a routine again. But knowing my luck, something will happen to turn my world around again. Then again, I’m not sure thats a bad thing. I don’t know what I would do with boring…..

Leave a Reply

