Grown-ups?


I’m going to start by saying I’m 25. My husband is also 25. We’ve been married for 5 1/2 years. We have 2 children. We both have full-time jobs. We own our house. We own 2 cars. We pay our own bills. We provide food and clothing for ourselves and our boys. We are grown-ups.

Or, at least that’s what we think. As grown-ups, we are supposed to be allowed to make our own decisions, and do what is best for our family. It also means that, while those decisions may not be what other people want us to make, they should be respected. Or, at least not assumed to be dumb, when you don’t have all the facts.

I suppose I should explain a little of what’s gone on the last couple of weeks. (If any who read this want to know all the details, please, please, please, call me or Jon so you can understand better.)

At the beginning of the summer Jon and I talked about the possibility of visiting different churches. Not necessarily because we were unhappy where we were at, but because (at least for Jon) we needed to know if it was the right place to stay. And so, 3 weeks ago, we visited another church. We’ve gone for the last 3 Sundays because the paster had started a series on baggage that intrigued us both. And, we will go next week too, to hear the conclusion. This series has challenged me, and has made me seriously think about what baggage I carry and how that has affected my walk with the Lord. It has also sparked conversations with Jon, friends, and some members of the church that we are members of.

And while we haven’t decided what to do next, if nothing else, taking these 3 weeks to visit another church, has caused my husband and I to talk more about our fundamental beliefs in God, the role church should play, and the role we need to play. We haven’t had these kind of conversations since before we got married. Yeah, we’ve talked about God while we’ve been married, but nothing like the last few weeks. It has helped reaffirm that I married the man I was supposed to, and that we are heading in the direction that God is leading us.

Unfortunately, during this time, we’ve gotten some feedback that implies that we are too young to know what God wants for us. And in the same breath we are being told that we are “future leaders” in the church. I’m still trying to wrap my head around it. How can we be leaders in the church when we don’t know what God is doing in our lives? How is this possible? I was taught that you are never too young to talk to God, and you are never too young to hear from Him. That God will always show His Will to those that ask, no matter their age. So, we have a lot to think about, pray about, and consider as we move forward as a family.

Being a grown-up is hard. Life is hard. Why do people have to make it more difficult?

 

One thought on “Grown-ups?

  1. You are never too young to hear from God. If anyone thinks otherwise, they should at least consider the example of Samuel, David or Timothy. Also, I don’t buy the “future leaders” concept. You can be leaders now! Why do people think that young people have to wait to be leaders. Rubbish. Do what God is calling you to do. Whether that means you are “leaders” or not, the point is to be faithful to His leading.

    Like

Leave a Reply

