Gifts and Shopping and Cookies, Oh My!


There’s only 2 days until Christmas…and I just finished shopping. Like 2 hours ago. I am so far behind it’s not even funny. I still haven’t cleaned the kitchen so I can make cookies. I haven’t wrapped a single present (except for the gift cards, which are awesomely packaged!) or even organized them according to house. I just figured out what I’m bringing to Christmas dinner and managed to find all the ingredients for it. We start our 3 day Christmas parade tonight and I’m not even close to ready. Normally, I would be so stressed and anxious, I’d be driving my family nuts with my craziness.

But I don’t care. I’m not stressed about it, or even slightly concerned! I know that I’ll get everything done that needs too. Maybe cookies won’t get done before Christmas, but that’s okay, we can still enjoy cookies anytime of year. The gifts will get wrapped, maybe at midnight Christmas Eve, but it’ll happen. And my dish will get made, just in time to leave the house.

Besides, Christmas is not really about all that stuff anyways. It’s about celebrating God’s greatest gift to us. The birth of His Son, so He could bring us Salvation. It’s about getting together with family and enjoying the time we have. It’s about thinking of others first and not expecting anything else in return. We should be doing all those things all year round, but it’s nice to have this time of year to bring that back into focus.

Sometimes life doesn’t go according to plan, or at least our plan. Something happens to throw a big, giant monkey wrench into the plans we so carefully make. It could be anything; a job loss, an injury, someone dies, a car breaks down, furnace goes out, etc.  This happens all the time, so much so, we should expect it to happen. Yet we are always so surprised when it does! It doesn’t really matter when or what happens, it matters how we respond. Do we throw up our hands in anger, and curse our circumstances? Or do we throw up our hands in praise, and use the opportunity to give glory to God for everything He has done for us?

This has been one of those months for my family, and everytime I’m ready to give up and throw in the towel, I am reminded of God’s love and His desire to provide for me. And although things may not be going according to “plan”, I know that they are going according to His plan. And that in the end, it’s all for His glory.

So while I enjoy doing all the things I usually do this time of year, I am keeping what’s really important first. Besides….I don’t really need all those cookies anyways…

One thought on “Gifts and Shopping and Cookies, Oh My!

Leave a Reply

