It’s The End…..or is it?


There’s a song that I periodically get stuck in my head thanks to my hubby. (I have no idea what the name of it is, or who sings it so don’t bother asking) Actually it’s more like the first line of the chorus, and it says this: “It’s the end of the world as we know it” To a really happy, cheery tune. It’s mildly disturbing. Anyways, I’m getting sidetracked, the statement that’s made is an interesting one. It has a lot of potential meanings; some good, some bad.  These lyrics struck as fitting for the end of 2011. This past year has been one of a lot of change for our family. Some have been very good, others not as much.

And as I’ve been looking over the last year, I’m amazed at how far I’ve come, both mentally and spiritually. There have been a lot of ups and downs…. unfortunately more downs than ups, but it has led me to a good place in my walk with God. A place where it’s not up to me to make life work, where I don’t have to stress because it will work out eventually. And most importantly, it has brought me to the understanding of the seemingly simple concept that God loves me, and wants the best for me.

My husband and I celebrated our 6th anniversary Thursday. And while our marriage didn’t start under the best of circumstances, (maybe I’ll do a post on this someday) it has been an amazing one. I was privileged to marry my best friend, and even more privileged to still be able to call him my best friend. As I look back on the last 6 years, I know that I am the luckiest girl in the world to have such an amazing, supportive husband and father to my boys. And I wouldn’t change it for the world.

Jon and I have a lot of big dreams, and I have every confidence that we will reach them. The thing I’m not so sure on, is the timing. Our timing and God’s timing are a little different apparently. We aren’t where I’d hoped we be right now, but we’re on the right track. God has done amazing things in our lives, the last 6 months especially, and I can’t wait to see what 2012 brings us.

The entire chorus of the song goes like this: “It’s the end of the world as we know it….and that’s just fine.”

And you know what? It is!

Leave a Reply

