Getting Ready for Round 2


I know, I know…I said I was going to keep this up more regularly and obviously I’ve failed. But I have a good reason! Really! Due to life events over the last couple of months I decided not to blog, because I would probably mention something that I shouldn’t. Maybe it’s a semi-lame one, but it’s the one I used.

Anywho, it’s been a crazy, event filled, couple of months…again… I feel like it’s a repeat of last year, complete with some of the same events, and similar timing. We’ll start with my hubby: First, he was diagnosed with hypothyroidism. Which basically means his thyroid is dying and he’ll be taking medication for the rest of his life. Second, he changed jobs…back to his old one. (reeaallly long story that I won’t get into, and the main reason that I haven’t posted in a while.)

Then there’s the family change: We left our old church (see God Shopping for more on this subject) and have found a new one that we are very happy with. Or at least, everyone but Elvis. Unfortunately, Elvis isn’t so thrilled. He’s having a tough time, but I’m hopeful that as he starts to make friends he’ll do better. He would much rather be with his old friends, and I don’t blame him. Having to make friends is hard, and if I’m honest I’m not looking forward to it either.

Add in our normal crazy lives, and the fact that I have doubled my Premier business and hope to double it again by summer, it’s been a super busy few months. And to top it all off, Jon and I embarked on an insane journey up north, through an epic snow storm, in our little car, surrounded by crazy snowmobiler people, just for a jewelry show and to hang out with my sister and brother-in-law. (Not that I don’t love you guys, but we were crazy to do it!)

And here’s my favorite part of the last couple months; while it would seem that I am too busy to take on anything else, I’ve found myself with ample time to reflect on and grow in my walk with God. Through all the chaos and insanity, there is this calming force and stable place to rest. I have been challenged in how I view my relationship with God, in how I react to that relationship, and how I live out that relationship. Sometimes it’s clearly laid out, other times it’s more subtle, but it’s unmistakably God. Things like the sermons I’ve been hearing, or blogs I’ve been reading (like my dad’s; Journey to the Center of the Soul) all have a common thread. Trust God, trust in God, and trust that God knows what He’s doing.

So here goes round 2….another year of change and growth. And I’m excited! I can’t wait to see where God takes me and our family this year. I hope to keep this blog more up to date (I know, I know…I’ve said this before), and as we travel through the year, be able to look back and understand better why certain things happened the way they did. And above all, know that my choices are for the ultimate glory of God.

One thought on “Getting Ready for Round 2

  1. You guys were crazy, I wouldn’t have done it….well I might have…

    It’s funny, the same God-thing has been showing up over and over again for me too. “Sit down, shut up, God knows what He’s doing, let Him do it.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

