Day 3


It’s the end of day three of the Daniel fast that we’re doing. It’s a whole lot tougher than I thought it would be at this stage. I knew that I would struggle at some point, but I really didn’t think it would happen this fast. I figured it would be more like day 10ish or so.

My body aches like no tomorrow, especially my shoulders and hips. While I expected my massive headache (due to the lack of caffeine), I didn’t expect the whole body aches. Thankfully the headache is mostly gone today, so that should be fine from here on out. But I have no idea how long my body will hurt like this.

The diet is going a little better than I expected, although the lack of cheese is really getting to me.  I never realized how much we cooked with/ate cheese with our meals. And it may be something I add back in. Cheese was a major source of protein for me, aside from eggs and meat, and since I don’t like (and really can’t stand) beans, I’m concerned about the lack of protein. We’ll see how it goes….

The trickiest part of the fast will be tomorrow evening and next Saturday. Tomorrow my husband’s cousin is getting married, so we decided that we won’t worry as much about the food aspect. I plan on avoiding meat and only drinking water, but I’m not going to worry too much about the rest.  And next Saturday we have my regional rally for my Premier Designs jewelry business. It’s an all day affair with lunch provided and then dinner afterwards with my team. Again, it will be difficult to stick to the diet and so I will honor the no meat and only water aspects of the fast.

I mentioned the other day that I was only doing the fast because the youth group is doing it. And after spending the night with the girls last night, I have come to realize that it is the perfect reason to do it. When the Daniel Fast was first brought up, one of the other youth leaders talked about fasting for someone else. I usually thought of fasting as being a personal thing, for personal reasons. It never occurred to me to fast for someone else. And so, during my half-hour of constant prayer on my way home this morning, more or less complaining to God about how I was hungry and I hurt and I wanted to give up, it became very clear that fasting is not about me. It’s about Him. It’s about being in constant prayer, it’s about being aware of what is going on in my head and knowing where and who those thoughts come from. It’s about listening to Him and being willing to pray for whom He puts on our hearts. It’s about listening to what we need to work on personally and then doing it. It’s about being willing to die to ourselves and giving the control back to God where it belongs.

So although it’s only been 3 days, it already feels like a lifetime. I’m excited (and a little apprehensive) about the next 18 days and what they bring. It’s bringing me to a new place in my walk with God, and also with my struggle with my self and what my flesh desires. If this is what just 3 days brings, bring on the rest.

Leave a Reply

